ardour not visible in qjack

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
LarrySummers
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:32 pm

ardour not visible in qjack

Post by LarrySummers »

When I fire up Rosegarden then go into Qjack, Rosegarden has configured Jack so that Rosegarden shows up in the routing for Audio, Midi, etc. But when I start up Ardour I don't see any reference to Ardour in QJack. Audio works fine in Ardour, but I'm trying to get midi working in Ardour (works in Rosegarden). Is there a way to insert Ardour routings into Jack? Thanks.
AyeLinux
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:27 pm
Location: California, US

Re: ardour not visible in qjack

Post by AyeLinux »

Ardour from v 4 and up lets you choose between JACK and direct ALSA connections. Are you sure Ardour is set to use JACK?
All in favor of Linux, say 'aye.'
Pablo
Established Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: ardour not visible in qjack

Post by Pablo »

Note also that ardour will use jack midi while Rosegarden uses alsa midi. You need a bridge to route alsa midi to/from jack midi (ajmidid or similar).

I recommend you launch qjacktl and start jack from it before any jack-aware program instead of letting Rosegarden start jack.
Post Reply