Sudden firewire input problem

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

LuckyAstronaut

Sudden firewire input problem

Post by LuckyAstronaut »

Hi Everyone,
I'm hoping I can get a hand. I'm new to ubuntu and learning quick, but seem to have just as quickly hit a wall. I recently set up a dual boot system to play around with linux to make music. I installed ubuntu studio 14.04LTS about 6 weeks ago and after a crap ton of reading and playing I had a great setup with JACK to connect Hydrogen, Ardour, my Edirol FA-66 input box and was starting to play with real time effects. Everything worked great until about a week ago.

I started up as I normally do but now I can only see "system" capture (2 inputs) and Playback (8 outputs). Seems I can still read MIDI from the FA66, but no audio inputs. After reading and trying my best to troubleshoot I know this:
1. the firewire cable and device is fine (I run a dual boot system with windows and can read audio input into different sequencer)
2. JACK still seems to work for purely internal connections - I can still connect and record individual Hydrogen tracks into Ardour)
3. I've tried killing pulseaudio as has been suggested in a few forums describing the same issue, but nothing improves

Right now, this is the error that's been coming up in the messages window on QjackCtl

Code: Select all

(qjackctl:9750): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_widget_get_direction: assertion 'GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed
I'd really appreciate any help in trying to troubleshoot this to get my audio input back up and running.
Thanks in advance
aicram
Established Member

Re: Sudden firewire input problem

Post by aicram »

Dear LuckyAstronaut,