Ardour Key Bindings

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

bensimmonds
Establlshed Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 2:05 am

Ardour Key Bindings

Postby bensimmonds » Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:19 am

So a silly little question for a Tuesday morning. I'm just trying to put a little "quick and dirty" backing track together for a rehearsal this evening. But for some reason my shortcut key for start/stop is not working [space bar]. In the key bindings window "start/stop" is blank, and it wont allow me to assign [space]. I can assign anything else ie, [Alt + Space], but even then it will only work for STOP and not START. [Shift + Space] still works for "start/stop recording".

So far swearing hasn't helped either, so I thought I'd ask for any ideas here? It just really interrupts my workflow to not have shortcuts.

1984
Establlshed Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:30 pm

Re: Ardour Key Bindings

Postby 1984 » Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:38 am

If you haven't defined any own shortcuts you could reset the shortcuts to defaults and see if that solves the problem: Window -> Key Bindings -> Reset Bindings to Defaults

bensimmonds
Establlshed Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 2:05 am

Re: Ardour Key Bindings

Postby bensimmonds » Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:22 pm

Thanks, resetting the keybindings didn't work. Sort of......

I resolved it by deleting the ardour.bindings file in /Home/.config/ardour4
Resetting probably should have had the same effect, but for some reason wasn't working. Perhaps somehow I'd ruined the default file?

Oh well, all good now. Back to work.

PatS
Establlshed Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: Ardour Key Bindings

Postby PatS » Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:49 pm

Same subject but different problem.

This is with Ardour 5.5 on KXStudio, English language, German keyboard.
I'm slightly confused about Ardour's default key bindings.
Most of the bindings listed here http://manual.ardour.org/default-keyboard-bindings/mnemonic-bindings-for-linux/ work fine but some either don't work or are set to different defaults.
Using the Bindings Editor I managed to figure out a few.
For example:
"quantize MIDI notes" ought to be "Q" but was set to "Alt+5"
"zoom in" was set to "=" but didn't work, probably because of my German keyboard. OK, changed the binding for that, all good.
"zoom height and time to selected region" ---> "Alt+Z" does nothing.

Is my German keyboard part of the problem?
Am I missing an up-to-date list of the default key bindings?

Oh, and /HOME/.config/ardour5/ardour.keys does not contain the changes I make with the Bindings Editor.

PatS
Establlshed Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: Ardour Key Bindings

Postby PatS » Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:11 am

Never mind.
I've worked it out and defined a few of my own bindings. And they DO get stored in HOME/.config/ardour5/ardour.keys, so I can make backups or reuse them in other installations of A5.


Return to “Recorders & Sequencers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: urlwolf and 3 guests