Midi+Audio mixdown & pan/vol in Qtractor: a hack & a half

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Euximion
Established Member

Midi+Audio mixdown & pan/vol in Qtractor: a hack & a half

Post by Euximion »

Hello,

This is partly a how-to, partly a question whether other people have found better solutions. I am quite new to Linux audio, so please pardon me if I write nonsense.

The issue

The issue is how to manage combined mixdown of midi and audio tracks in Qtractor, and how to manage panning and volume for the midi tracks, too. At least in the Qtractor I use, v0.6.3.17, there is no option to mixdown your whole midi+audio piece to, say, an ogg or mp3. This is one of the very few unhappy surprises I've had with this wonderful program (the other being the unintuitive bus creation). Others have had similar experiences. The issue is complicated by the fact that the pan and volume sliders for the midi tracks in the mixer do not work on the midi track's *audio* output (as you might incorrectly assume), but on the pan and velocity signals sent to whatever plugin you have on the midi track. If that plugin does not handle these signals as expected, or at all, there is a problem. LinuxSampler does, other plugins do not.

One solution, but not a great one, is to record individual midi tracks to individual audio tracks (e.g. 'epiano' midi track to 'epiano' audio track, 'chimes' midi track to 'chimes' audio track, etc.). Then you can use the volume and pan on those audio tracks, and mixdown all the audio tracks. The trouble here is that this can quickly result in a cumbersome amount of tracks, and a lot of time spent recording midi to audio (as described in the post linked to above).