Editing several MIDI tracks at the same place

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

User avatar
rncbc
Established Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Editing several MIDI tracks at the same place

Post by rncbc »

bluebell wrote:Nice, thank you. Can help a lot.
thanks
bluebell wrote:BTW I noticed that in the MIDI editor's window the "Auto backward" button is missing. Could you add it please?
most of transport controls are global, in the sense of the application of course, so the "auto-backward" option is currently only accessible through the main application window.

hth.
cheers

User avatar
milk
Established Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:08 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Editing several MIDI tracks at the same place

Post by milk »

windowsrefund wrote:You have a 8 bar phrase made up of 4x 2 measure clips and you're looping... you click on a clip to enter piano roll and you can now work in that limited amount of space. ... You can't edit anything outside the 2 measures which means in order to do so, you have to break out of PR, go back select another clip... it's just gruntwork.
That's an interesting idea. An intermediate solution would be a hotkey/button to make the piano roll window jump to editing the next/previous clip in the track. Hmm, that would work well for sequencer64...

(Speaking generally, and not that I remember the Qtractor UI currently)

nice one on the ghost notes though, neat feature
they/them ta / wiki.thingsandstuff.org/Audio and related pages - a collection of mostly Linux and free links / Linux Digital Audio and Music Workstation Comparison Matrix - collaborative Google Sheet (slightly broken, no time/cpu power to fix here)

User avatar
rncbc
Established Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Editing several MIDI tracks at the same place

Post by rncbc »

milk wrote:
windowsrefund wrote:You have a 8 bar phrase made up of 4x 2 measure clips and you're looping... you click on a clip to enter piano roll and you can now work in that limited amount of space. ... You can't edit anything outside the 2 measures which means in order to do so, you have to break out of PR, go back select another clip... it's just gruntwork.
That's an interesting idea. An intermediate solution would be a hotkey/button to make the piano roll window jump to editing the next/previous clip in the track. Hmm, that would work well for sequencer64...
i'd suggest to avoid that kind of "gruntwork", maybe the clips should be merged into one, that is, select all the (4) clips and hit Clip > Merge... after that you have only one phrase or clip that is edited in the piano-roll as a single contiguous entity.

hth.
cheers

Post Reply