Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Official support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.sourceforge.net

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA, falkTX

Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby falkTX » Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:16 pm

Hello everybody!
we're almost in the Beta1 release of Cadence! :twisted:

For those of you who don't know, Cadence is what KXStudio uses to manage the entire audio ecosystem.
'Cadence' is by itself the main app of a series of tools (call it the "Cadence tools").
There's 'Catia', a simple JACK patchbay; 'Claudia' is a ladish frontend, very similar to Catia (and gladish); 'Carla' is the plugin host.
Then there's the small tools - JackMeter, JackSettings, Logs, Render and XY-Controller (their names give away their funtionality).

Cadence and its tools are currently being documented, and pages will appear here: (incomplete)
http://kxstudio.sourceforge.net/KXStudio:Applications
(There's a topic in this forum discussing the documentation here).

If you're running KXStudio now, you either have updates or have recently updated Cadence and sub-packages.
I'll be pushing the latest Cadence code to the KXStudio repositories frequently in the next days while the testing happens.
ArchLinux users can use this AUR package: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=50747
You can checkout what's going on in the Cadence commits page: https://github.com/falkTX/Cadence/commits/master

Not everything is fully ready right now, here's a list of things that will still be done before the Beta1 release:
- Cadence audio-bridges, currently disabled
- Carla Windows plugin-bridge support (Linux 32/64bit bridges are already in place though). Note that this will remain an experimental feature even for this release.
- Carla-Control is unfinished, the GUI will do nothing useful right now.
- Catia ALSA-MIDI support is currently disabled, but will still not be activated for this release.

// -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So, what needs testing?
Pretty much everything. :D
Run the apps, click on random stuff and try to make them crash. When that happens, or if notice something weird, please report the bug.
I've done my best to make the tools as stable + crash-free as possible, but we can never be too sure about these things.

You can report bugs directly to this forum topic or the official bug page at https://github.com/falkTX/Cadence/issues.
Reporting a bug in that page allows you to receive notifications whenever something is done related to it, use it if a bug affects you personally.


Thanks in advance to everyone that decides to help!
If you love these tools and they are useful to you, please consider a donation.
User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby falkTX » Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:41 pm

btw, regarding the cadence audio-bridges, you can still start them manually.
the pulse2jack script is now:
Code: Select all
cadence-pulse2jack


in case something fails, try to restart the audio session by using:
Code: Select all
cadence-session-start -s


Your previous settings and bridges are still in place, just not yet visible in the GUI right now.
User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby hellalive » Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:06 am

Thnak you falk. I'm experimenting random x-runs with settings I usually used to set for mixing/monitoring rather than recording - like 1024 @48000Hz. Apparently, they occur randomly and they do not appear on the logs but only in cadence icon in Unity. I'm currently using the bridges as I use my kxstudio installation for almost everything - browsing, studying, documents, etc. While writing this post the number of xruns detected increased to 10 in almost 45 minutes of computer usage - mainly browsing and writing documents; I can't figure out why. Also, the bridges auto-start while i login; i had manually activated them yesterday as they didn't - at least pulseaudio bridge, wich was necessary to me. This isn't a problem at all; i just thought I had to let you know. Anyway, your work is really great; cadence apps are awsome.
He had a lot of nithing to say, we'll miss him
hellalive
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:10 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby falkTX » Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:14 am

hellalive wrote:Thnak you falk. I'm experimenting random x-runs with settings I usually used to set for mixing/monitoring rather than recording - like 1024 @48000Hz. Apparently, they occur randomly and they do not appear on the logs but only in cadence icon in Unity. I'm currently using the bridges as I use my kxstudio installation for almost everything - browsing, studying, documents, etc. While writing this post the number of xruns detected increased to 10 in almost 45 minutes of computer usage - mainly browsing and writing documents; I can't figure out why.

Well, if you're going to open "random" applications, expect some minor xruns when that happens (specially when opening wine apps).
Unity by itself takes a lot of CPU, so some actions like alt+tab in rapid succession might trigger an xrun.
The problem comes when xruns happen while the system is at rest - that should not happen! (maybe there's a background app indexing files?)

hellalive wrote:Also, the bridges auto-start while i login; i had manually activated them yesterday as they didn't - at least pulseaudio bridge, wich was necessary to me.

There was a specific time yesterday while the packages were not fully up-to-date (delay on launchpad servers) that triggered this, but it should be solved now.
The bridges should still work as before, the GUI for them is just missing at the moment. If not, consider it a bug. Is this the case?
User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby hellalive » Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:29 am

falkTX wrote:Well, if you're going to open "random" applications, expect some minor xruns when that happens (specially when opening wine apps).
Unity by itself takes a lot of CPU, so some actions like alt+tab in rapid succession might trigger an xrun.
The problem comes when xruns happen while the system is at rest - that should not happen! (maybe there's a background app indexing files?)


About the random xruns, they never happend so frequently before - even with high resource usage programs going on. I used to have one in 2 or 3 hours, and not every 10 minutes. Plus, xruns where usually related to random Ubuntu internal crashes, wich seem to happend often with this release. By the way, I'm planning a composing session this afternoon, i'll let you know how it goes.

falkTX wrote:There was a specific time yesterday while the packages were not fully up-to-date (delay on launchpad servers) that triggered this, but it should be solved now.
The bridges should still work as before, the GUI for them is just missing at the moment. If not, consider it a bug. Is this the case?


Everything is fine with the GUI and all. No bug in this case.
He had a lot of nithing to say, we'll miss him
hellalive
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:10 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby JPolo » Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:12 pm

Hello.

I am new in this forum (and sorry for my English).
First i want to thank "falkTX" for "KXStudio" 8) .

So, after last update i have a problem on notebook and desktop pc (both use Kubuntu (KDE 4.8.4 and 4.9) + KXStudio).
In "Renoise" i can see plugins (ladspa, vst, dssi) only with "sudo", "Ardous3" can see only LADSPA, "Lv2 rack", "ZynJackU rack", "Jack rack" don't see anything and so on.
I try configure manuly new path but seems it's dont work.

Ps. Im not a big "Linux" master so sorry for my misapprehension :|
Last edited by JPolo on Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JPolo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:45 am
Location: Lithuania/Finland

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby falkTX » Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:21 pm

JPolo wrote:Hello.

I am new in this forum (and sorry for my English).
First i want to thank "falkTX" for "KXStudio" 8) .

So, after last update i have a problem on notebook and desktop pc (both use Kubuntu (KDE 4.8.4 and 4.9) + KXStudio).
In "Renoise" i can see plugins (ladspa, vst, dssi) only with "sudo", "Ardous3" can see only LADSPA, "Lv2 rack", "ZynJackU rack", "Jack rack" don't see anything and so on.
I try configure manuly new patch but seems it's dont work.

Ps. Im not a big "Linux" master so sorry for my misapprehension :|


Try to reset the plugins PATH in Cadence tweaks section (click LADSPA, reset, DSSI, reset, etc) and re-login.
You should not run apps with sudo though, you're just messing up your system that way (and perhaps that's the reason this now fails?)

in any case, after doing that^ and after re-login, run this command on a terminal and post the output:
Code: Select all
env | grep _PATH | sort
User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby JPolo » Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:10 pm

Reset not helped and i never run programs with "sudo" :)
I reinstaled KXStudio on notebook the day before yesterday and its worked good with older cadence but after update, and new cadence it's faill again with plugins path .
Desktop
Code: Select all
polis@KXStudio:~$ env | grep _PATH | sort
DEFAULTS_PATH=/usr/share/gconf/kde-plasma.default.path
DSSI_PATH=['/home/polis/.dssi', '/usr/lib/dssi', '/usr/local/lib/dssi']
LADSPA_PATH=['/home/polis/.ladspa', '/usr/lib/ladspa', '/usr/local/lib/ladspa']
LV2_PATH=['/home/polis/.lv2', '/usr/lib/lv2', '/usr/local/lib/lv2']
MANDATORY_PATH=/usr/share/gconf/kde-plasma.mandatory.path
QT_PLUGIN_PATH=/home/polis/.kde/lib/kde4/plugins/:/usr/lib/kde4/plugins/
VST_PATH=['/home/polis/.vst', '/usr/lib/vst', '/usr/local/lib/vst']

Notebook
Code: Select all
polis@polis-notebook:~$ env | grep _PATH | sort
DEFAULTS_PATH=/usr/share/gconf/default.default.path
DSSI_PATH=['/home/polis/.dssi', '/usr/lib/dssi', '/usr/local/lib/dssi']
LADSPA_PATH=['/home/polis/.ladspa', '/usr/lib/ladspa', '/usr/local/lib/ladspa']
LV2_PATH=['/home/polis/.lv2', '/usr/lib/lv2', '/usr/local/lib/lv2']
MANDATORY_PATH=/usr/share/gconf/default.mandatory.path
QT_PLUGIN_PATH=/home/polis/.kde/lib/kde4/plugins/:/usr/lib/kde4/plugins/
VST_PATH=['/home/polis/.vst', '/usr/lib/vst', '/usr/local/lib/vst']

All my plugins are in /usr/lib/
I tried to copy to another location (/home/polis/.dssi) but it did not help.
Thanks
Last edited by JPolo on Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:36 am, edited 3 times in total.
JPolo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:45 am
Location: Lithuania/Finland

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby falkTX » Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:22 pm

ah, I see what's going on, thanks for the report!
PATHs are not set properly, so I'll fix it.
The next update (20120912-0~precise1) will come with this fixed.
User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby amsel » Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:40 pm

Note:
There might be problems with the upgrade:
Code: Select all
Preparing to replace cadence-tools 1:0.2.0~alpha2+git20120106-0~precise7 (using .../cadence-tools_1%3a0.5.0~beta1+git20120911-0~precise4_amd64.deb) ...
Unpacking replacement cadence-tools ...
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/cadence-tools_1%3a0.5.0~beta1+git20120911-0~precise4_amd64.deb (--unpack):
 trying to overwrite '/usr/bin/cadence-session-start', which is also in package cadence 1:0.2.0~alpha2+git20120106-0~precise7

...

Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/cadence-tools_1%3a0.5.0~beta1+git20120911-0~precise4_amd64.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)


solved by:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get autoclean
sudo apt-get autoremove


I know who is responsible for this :P

EDIT:
oh, it didn't realy resolve it, sems to be a problem with the packages for me, i compiled from Master and it seems to work.
Just the packaged version doesn't:
Code: Select all
~$ cadence
Using Tray Engine 'Qt'
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/cadence/src/cadence.py", line 30, in <module>
    from shared_jack import *
  File "/usr/share/cadence/src/shared_jack.py", line 24, in <module>
    import jacksettings, logs, render
  File "/usr/share/cadence/src/jacksettings.py", line 189
    print "saveServerSettings: Cannot save clock-source value"
                                                             ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

similar for the other tools,
missing files, i guess, i'll play around with that a bit.
amsel
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby falkTX » Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:15 pm

Thanks for the report amsel, seems like there's one more break/replaces rule I need to apply to the packages.

-------------------------------------
EDIT: this below has been fixed
In the mean time, you can do:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get clean
sudo apt-get remove cadence cadence-tools cadence-data -y --force-yes
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install cadence

I'll fix this now, and it's done!
User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby hellalive » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:07 pm

Hi again,

I composed a little this afternoon and it didn't give me strange xruns during the session. However, leaving it idle for 2 hourse gave me like 25 xruns (studio still loaded). It could be because of some programs in background indexing as you said, but it never happened before..and there again, no way i can find in the log any xrun. It's some strange to me..

Another issue is: claudia launcher, if started from cadence, starts programs independently form claudia - they do not appear in claudia while launched.

Third issue: logs window do not start when launched from cadence unity icon.
He had a lot of nithing to say, we'll miss him
hellalive
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:10 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby falkTX » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:14 pm

hellalive wrote:I composed a little this afternoon and it didn't give me strange xruns during the session. However, leaving it idle for 2 hourse gave me like 25 xruns (studio still loaded). It could be because of some programs in background indexing as you said, but it never happened before..and there again, no way i can find in the log any xrun. It's some strange to me..

Very strange indeed. There was a thread in JACK mailing list about "dummy xruns" (xruns that didn't actually affected sound, happening randomly).
If you find more info about this, please report back.

hellalive wrote:Another issue is: claudia launcher, if started from cadence, starts programs independently form claudia - they do not appear in claudia while launched.

"This is not a bug but a feature" :D
(It will be properly documented later, but yes, it's intended).
Claudia-Launcher has the ability to start apps outside of ladish (and that's why it exists as a separate app), and that's what it does when ran outside of Claudia's Add-New option.
(Note: The 'Cancel' button should be 'Close' in there)

hellalive wrote:Third issue: logs window do not start when launched from cadence unity icon.

Ah, nice catch, I forgot to update the unity shortcuts, will fix.
User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 4108
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby stanlea » Wed Sep 12, 2012 7:40 pm

So far now, no problems. :D
stanlea
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:49 pm

Re: Call for Testing - Cadence pre-Beta

Postby mwinthrop » Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:29 pm

Cadence seems to be working for me so far. This is not a bug report, but a small feature request. I was wondering if you could recreate the cadence --minimized capability? I really like starting Cadence automatically at boot and having it minimized on start, which is no longer happening now. Many thanks for your excellent work!
mwinthrop
Establlshed Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 6:11 pm

Next

Return to KXStudio Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests